Find a DUI Lawyer in Arizona

Arizona has one of the toughest DUI laws in the United States. If you have been arrested for a DUI, you need to find a lawyer immediately. There are many DUI lawyers in Arizona, but it is imperative that you seek out an attorney or law firm that has experience defending DUI cases.


  1. Find a lawyer that specializes in DUI cases. The laws governing DUI violations are stringent. You will face fines, possible jail time and other court-ordered penalties. A DUI arrest doesn’t have to mean a DUI conviction. An attorney who specializes in DUI cases may be able to help you avoid:
    • Ignition interlock requirements
    • Suspension of your driver’s license
    • Revocation of your license (permanent)
    • Probation
    • Alcohol screening and counseling
    • Additional fines and court costs
    • Community service
  2. Search online for DUI attorneys. Consult the website of the State Bar of Arizona for recommendations.[1] The State Bar of Arizona is a non-profit organization that operates under the supervision of the Arizona Supreme Court. Choose a law firm that offers a free consultation. A reputable law firm will grant you an initial consultation free of charge. Be sure to ask the attorney:
    • How many DUI trial cases the firm as handled
    • The success rate of DUI cases the law firm has defended
    • The total cost of legal services to you
  3. Tell your attorney everything. There are varying levels of DUI charges; your attorney needs to have all the information about your incident so that the proper defense can be prepared. A “simple” DUI has serious repercussions; a conviction of an “extreme” DUI could affect you for the rest of your life.


  • If you were pulled over and charged with drunk driving, be sure to tell your attorney about the details of your arrest. Your refusal to participate in any type of sobriety test will have an impact on the outcome of your case.
  • If you have a complaint about your attorney, you can contact the State Bar of Arizona for assistance.[2]


  • Your license can be suspended if, at the time of your arrest, you refused to take a field sobriety test. However, an experienced attorney might be able to get your suspension dismissed.
  • Be prepared to pay between $250 and $1,500 for fines and court fees in addition to the cost of your attorney.