What are our teeth made of?

A tooth consists of three main layers: (a) soft pulp at the centre (b) dentine, and (c) enamel. The part of the tooth visible to us is known as the crown and the one below the gum, embedded in the jaw is the root.

The outer layer of the root is made of enamel. This is the hardest substance in the body and is resistant to wear and tear. Inside the enamel lies the dentine which forms the roots. Roots are set into the jawbone with a layer of cement. The pulp is the innermost layer of the tooth and contains nerve fibres and blood vessels. Nerve fibres are also present in the dentine and the cement layer.