Add or Remove the Timestamp on WhatsApp

This article teaches you how to enable or disable the timestamp that shows the last time a user was online in WhatsApp.

Steps

Using an iPhone

  1. Open WhatsApp. It's the green app with a white phone icon on a green and white chat bubble.
    • If this is your first time opening WhatsApp, you'll need to Send-Free-Text-Messages-Internationally-Using-WhatsApp.
  2. Tap Settings. This option is in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
    • If WhatsApp opens to a conversation, tap the back button in the top-left corner of the screen first.
  3. Tap Account. It's near the top of the page.
  4. Tap Privacy. This option is at the top of the "Account" page.
  5. Tap Last Seen. It's at the top of the "Privacy" page. There are three options here:
    • Everyone - Anyone who has your contact information can see the last time you were online (default).
    • My Contacts - Only people in your contacts list can see the last time you were online.
    • Nobody - No one will be able to see the last time you were online. This setting also prevents you from seeing when other users were last online.
  6. Tap a "Last Seen" option. Doing so will enable or disable timestamps based on your preference.
    • If you're enabling timestamps, you'll be able to view them beneath a contact's name at the top of a WhatsApp conversation.

Using Android

  1. Open WhatsApp. It's the green app with a white phone icon on a green and white chat bubble.
    • If this is your first time opening WhatsApp, you'll need to Send-Free-Text-Messages-Internationally-Using-WhatsApp.
  2. Tap . This button is in the top-right corner of the screen.
    • If WhatsApp opens to a conversation, tap the back button in the top-left corner of the screen first.
  3. Tap Settings. It's at the bottom of the drop-down menu here.
  4. Tap Account. It's near the top of the page.
  5. Tap Privacy. This option is at the top of the "Account" page.
  6. Tap Last Seen. It's at the top of the "Privacy" page. There are three options here:
    • Everyone - Anyone who has your contact information can see the last time you were online (default).
    • My contacts - Only people in your contacts list can see the last time you were online.
    • Nobody - No one will be able to see the last time you were online. This setting also prevents you from seeing when other users were last online.
  7. Tap a "Last Seen" option. Doing so will enable or disable timestamps based on your preference.
    • If you're enabling timestamps, you'll be able to view them beneath a contact's name at the top of a WhatsApp conversation.

Tips

  • You can also Disable-the-"Message-Seen"-Blue-Ticks-in-WhatsApp from the "Privacy" menu.

Related Articles

Don't forget to follow us on Facebook!